Best Eating Spots in Quito: Warm and Welcoming Warmi

cafe, restaurant, food, foodie, artesenal, organic, organics, quito, ecuador, eating out, guapulo, cafe culture, coffee, brunch, breakfast

Best Eating Spots in Quito: Warmi

These are my last few days in Ecuador after an at times challenging, and at times wonderful experience. I thought I would end my time here with some posts about my favourite spots in and around Guapulo, the place I have called home for the last year.

I’m not much of a night owl these days, preferring to cuddle up with my husband and puppy of an evening, but I do love a good brunch or almuerzo (lunch), and, fortunately for me, one of the best places for both – Warmi – is just a stone’s throw away. In the months whilst George and I were separated he would Skype me from Warmi, it was one of his favourite spots to eat, drink coffee, and have Spanish lessons. It was the first place he took me to when I arrived and I fell in love with it. Warmi is situated near the Mirador (look out) of Guapulo, behind Hotel Quito, and from it’s vantage point on top of the hill it has spectacular views. On a good day you can see the Volcano Cayambe on the horizon.

Food Mid Week

During the week Warmi sell almuerzos, which is a traditional Ecuadorian way of eating. An almuerzo is typically a soup to start, followed by a main meal of meat with potatoes and salad, with a fresh fruit juice. This is a very cheap way of eating and in other parts of the city can start from as little as $2. Warmi sells good quality, organic food, and their prices are a little higher – an almuerzo is $5. I do think that it is worth it, the quality of the food is excellent and there is always a vegetarian option. They also sell a selection of cakes and cookies if you are craving something sweet after lunch, although good luck fitting it in as these meals are filling.

Warmi, Ecuador, food, eating out, quito, guapulo, artesenal, organic, menu del dia, sopa, soup, home made

Warmi, Ecuador, food, eating out, quito, guapulo, artesenal, organic, menu del dia, home made, chicken, pollo, plato fuerte

Food at the Weekends

At the weekends the almuerzos are replaced with a breakfast and brunch menu, which range from $4.50 for a more traditional breakfast with rice and black beans, to $8.96 for the Ingles (my favourite), which is their take on an English breakfast. I do like a meal so big it has to come on two plates.

Warmi, Ecuador, food, eating out, quito, guapulo, artesenal, organic, home made, breakfast, brunch, weekend
El Ingles
campesino, food, quito, ecuador, Warmi, artesenal, organic, food
El Campesino

Service

Service is good here but can be a little slow at busy times. For me it is totally worth it – the waitress is a lovely woman and George and I will never tire of being called ‘mi rey’ and ‘mi reina (my king and queen!) Warmi is set in a lovely little courtyard and, being a dog obsessive, one of the things I like most about it is that my furry friend is always welcome. We can’t pass it without Dooki trying to go in.

Dooki upstaging the art
Dooki upstaging the art

If you are looking for an unusual gift for a friend, or even additions to your own kitchen cupboard, they also sell a variety of home made sauces, and pickles, as well as organic coffee and some beautiful artesenal gifts.

Warmi, Ecuador, food, eating out, quito, guapulo, artesenal, organic, menu del dia, sopa, soup, home made, sauces, pickles, gifts, treats

 

Warmi offers seating either outside or in the shade – a blessing for us pale skinned Brits who burn within seconds of exposure to the intense sun here on the equator.

Warmi, Ecuador, food, eating out, quito, guapulo, artesenal, organic, menu del dia, sopa, soup, home made, seating, light, view, cayambe, cafe, restaurant
The covered seating area – ideal for us pasty types

Like any big city Quito can be a loud, hectic, frustrating place. If you are looking for an oasis of calm and some delicious food to boot, then I can’t recommend Warmi highly enough.

6 thoughts on “Best Eating Spots in Quito: Warm and Welcoming Warmi

Leave a Reply

