On the Move

This is the view from my house. Ridiculous but true.
This is the view from my house. Ridiculous but true.

My husband George and I have been together for almost nine years. In that time we have lived in thirteen different houses, had about fifteen jobs between us, and done four degrees (five if you include my teacher training). Today we are moving for the third time this year and I’m not going to lie I’m over it. I am absolutely aware of how lucky I am to have had the opportunity to live in the beautiful country that is Ecuador, not once but twice, but I am desperate for some stability. More than anything I want to be able to put down roots. We have had varying degrees of luck with our Ecua-homes. The first was nice enough but tiny and in the middle of a building site. The constant banging, drilling, and dust would have been enough to drive the Dalai Lama doo-lally. The second, the magic cottage, has been just that – magic. It has been wonderful but sadly it is time to say goodbye and move into an apartment in the local area for my final three weeks in Ecuador.

The magic cottage we have been lucky enough to live in for the last three months
The magic cottage we have been lucky enough to live in for the last three months

Yes in three short weeks I return to England but leave my husband behind to complete the research for his PhD, and although I want to savour every minute I have left here I cannot wait for the time when he joins me and we can begin to make a life for ourselves in England. Adventure is fantastic but there is a great deal to be said for having somewhere to call home.

<a href=”http://www.bloglovin.com/blog/14316609/?claim=d5wh54fsykt”>Follow my blog with Bloglovin</a>

20 thoughts on “On the Move

  1. I feel you. Real, genuine friends with whom I can celebrate the sacred and stupid moments are what helps me feel at home when I’m transplanted. I am sad that I will only have a few more days of my Jo home in my Ecua life, but your friendship has been my magic cottage. Excited for all that lies ahead for you and your merry rooting and tooting.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. There was a time I would have disagreed with you. I moved ALL the time. Now I understand the whole place to call home mentality. You sound like you have had such memorable experiences, and I’m sure you will have many more in England.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Wow, that is a lot of moving. I would’ve lost my mind. yay, I’m glad your happy! I’m sure you guys get bummed because he’s not joining you right away but you’ll stay in each other’s mind and hearts until he joins you.

    Like

  4. That does sound wonderful but you’re right, adventure is made all the sweet when you have time to savour it, not constantly going from one place to the next. We can’t all do it forever

    Like

    1. Yeah exactly, that’s what I want – some roots. Having said that I might get bored after a while and start looking for adventure again but I’d like the chance to find out! Thanks for reading and commenting. 🙂

      Like

  5. Argh, my long comment just got deleted!! Anyway, I can relate to your need to settle down. I moved a lot as a child because of my Dad’s promotions and transfers. I chose something different for my kids and they are happier for it.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

