I Did It!

rainbow WM

This weekend we were lucky enough to visit the Cotapaxi National Park and stay at a beautiful hostel called The Secret Garden. It is a very social place, everybody eats together and, as there is no wifi, are forced to actually interact face to face. I previously wrote a blog post about my difficulty in allowing myself to be seen as a writer, and when the inevitable questions came about what I am doing here in Ecuador I made a conscious decision not to diminish the work I have done here, as I usually do. Not only did I tell these inquisitive strangers that I am a writer, but when they asked me about my book I gave them a serious answer about the complex and challenging themes in my book.

It seems like such a silly little thing but for me that is huge, after all if you don’t take yourself seriously how can you expect anyone else to?

2 thoughts on “I Did It!

Leave a Reply

